The Tyndale Monument at North Nibley in Gloucestershire was completed in 1866 as a memorial to William Tyndale, one of the first people to translate the bible into English.

It stands 34 metres (111 feet) tall.  A spiral staircase of 121 steps leads to the top with views across the Severn Estuary.

The monument was closed due to COVID-19, and during that time several birds have nested and raised their young on the stairs.  They have now all flown the nest so we have tidied up and reopened the monument.

Find us on Facebook

ILLUMINATION DIARY

Thu 20 Jan 2022
June Evans
In Memory of our mum - Jean Rolfe - (Nee Temlett) (sister to Tony) on her first birthday without her
Fri 21 Jan 2022
Liz Child
‘In memory of a much loved and missed husband, son, brother, friend and master sandwich/“manwich” maker Tom Child. We love and miss you always, from your loving family . Kate, Mum,Dad ,Tash and Matt
Sun 23 Jan 2022
Sue Smith
5 years have gone by and we miss you everyday. Love you Mum xxx
Sun 13 Feb 2022
Avalon McAllister
Happy birthday Ron McAllister
Mon 28 Feb 2022
Samantha Hill
This is for the Rare disease community to be united by a Global Chain of Lights across the world.
Fri 4 Mar 2022
Jackie Stride
In memory of my loving Dad, John Wright so missed and loved by all his family xxx
Fri 18 Mar 2022
In memory of Dad, Robert (“Bob”) Shearman, who spent his childhood in Nibley and Southend, latterly of Wotton❤️
Wed 20 Apr 2022
John Vickers
Happy 10th Wedding Anniversary My Lovely Wife xxx
Sat 4 Jun 2022
Katharine Knight
Happy 90th Ruth (Dorothy) Bushell. With all our love Katharine, Gemma, Steve & Paul xxx
Wed 13 Jul 2022
Happy 80th Birthday Dad/ Grandad/ Godfrey Marsland! Have a lovely day x
Sat 16 Jul 2022
Rebecca Pain
Booked
Tue 19 Jul 2022
Mat Fry
Happy 40th Birthday to Lauren Fry
Mon 8 Aug 2022
Karen Hall
10 years have gone by and we miss you desperately. All our love Samuel, Aidan and Karen xxxx
Sat 12 - Mon 14 Nov 2022
Rebecca Pain
Booked
Tue 20 Dec 2022
In Memory of Dan Ward forever in our hearts
Thu 22 Dec 2022
Tim Hill
Happy 60th birthday to my beautiful wife and best friend Angie. All my love Tim x

To illuminate the monument for your special occasion, visit our booking page.